eng|pyc

 

More Angkor
Alexander Zakalsky
12.04.07 – 12.05.07

Elena Vrublevskay gallery presents exhibition “More Angkor” of the Moscow artist Alexander Zakalsky .
These series of works was preceded by the author’s studying of sculpture decorations of the
famous temple complex Angkor, situated in Cambodia.
Exhibition “More Angkor” is open for visitors from April, 12th to May, 12th.

Ancient capital of Khmer Empire, city-temple Angkor – is one of the main architectural attractions in the South-Eastern region. The construction of this unique in its beauty and size temple complex started in 9th century and lasted for four next centuries. According to one of the versions it stopped when they were run out of sandstone recourses. In 1861, thanks to French naturalist Anri Myuo, European travelers knew about Angkor; after 400 years of oblivion it was discovered anew for civilization.

Religious Angkor and tourist Angkor are known all around the world. Zakalsky suggests the spectators his own city-temple – “More Angkor”. On the paintings one can see cut out of stone faces of ancient deities, who are able to express different soul states. Depending on illumination, time of the day and nature conditions these images transform and Zakalsky manages to reflect these transformations on the canvas. The same sculptures are perceived young and old, sad and joyful. The author’s technique adds the works pictorial texture thanks to multilayer colorful surface, having the effect of stone destroyed by nature and time.

Alexander Zakalsky belongs to modern realistic artists’ school generation, who made themselves known at the end of nineties. One of the central places in his creativity is portrait painting: the result of the artist’s visit to Holland was series of 70ty portraits. Zakalsky participated in more than 30ty exhibitions in Russia, France, Netherlands, including seven personal ones, and also took part in the projects of Alliance of Artists in Chile and Peru.

The characteristic feature of this series “More Angkor” is its portraitness, common to many Zakalsky’s works. This composition laconism of huge canvases, when the artist denies minor details and concentrates on the representation of the deity image, allows to reveal the power of the construction art, grandiosity of the structure and cultural scale of the monument. Alexander Zakalsky, like Anri Myuo, rediscovers Angkor for us, creating the new image of the ancient temple.

О ГАЛЕРЕЕ ХУДОЖНИКИ НОВОСТИ СОБЫТИЯ СМИ КОНТАКТЫ  Живой Журнал Галереи Елены Врублевской Галерея Елены Врублевской в Facebook RSS-лента
eng|рус

 

Еще Ангкор
Александр Закальский
12.04.07 – 12.05.07

Галерея Елены Врублевской представляет выставку московского художника Александра Закальского. Появлению этой серии работ предшествовало изучение автором скульптурного оформления известного храмового комплекса Ангкор, расположенного в Камбожде. Выставка «Еще Ангкор» открыта для посещения с 12 апреля по 12 мая.

Древняя столица Кхмерской Империи, город-храм Ангкор - одна из главных архитектурных достопримечательностей в Юго-Восточном регионе. Строительство уникального по своей красоте и размерам храмового комплекса началось в IX веке и продолжалось в течение четырех последующих столетий. По одной из версий оно прекратилось, когда в империи закончились месторождения камня-песчаника. В 1861 году, благодаря французскому натуралисту Анри Мюо, об Ангкоре узнали европейские путешественники; спустя 400 лет забвения он был заново открыт для цивилизации.

Ангкор религиозный и Ангкор туристический пользуются всемирной известностью. Закальский предлагает зрителю свой город-храм – «Еще Ангкор». На картинах - вырезанные из камня лица древних божеств, способных передавать разные состояния души. В зависимости от освещения, времени суток и погодных условий лики преображаются и Закальскому удается перенести эти преображения на холст. Одни и те же скульптуры видятся то молодыми, то старыми, то печальными, то радостными. Авторская техника придает произведениям живописную фактуру благодаря многослойной красочной поверхности, обладающей эффектом разрушенного природой и временем камня.

Александр Закальский принадлежит к поколению художников современной реалистической школы, заявивших о себе в конце 90-х годов. Одно из центральных мест в его творчестве занимает портретная живопись: результатом поездки художника в Голландию стал целый цикл из 70-ти портретов. На счету Закальского более 30-ти выставок в России, Франции, Нидерландах, включая семь персональных, участие в проектах Союза художников в Чили и Перу.

Для серии «Еще Ангкор» характерна портретность, присущая большинству работ Закальского. Лаконичность композиции огромных полотен, когда художник отказывается от второстепенных деталей и сосредоточивает внимание на изображении ликов божества, позволяет раскрыть мощь строительного искусства, грандиозность сооружения, культурологический масштаб памятника. Александр Закальский, подобно Анри Мюо, заново открывает Ангкор для нас, создавая новый образ древнего храма.